Personally Invested in Your CaseSchedule A Free Consultation
Driving under the influence of alcohol is a crime that carries stiff penalties, but still occurs at an alarming rate. If you or your loved one has been hurt by a drunk driver, call The Penton Law Group, PLLC right away. Our Jackson personal injury attorneys are committed to holding drunk drivers accountable and pursuing the maximum compensation available for injured victims.
At The Penton Law Group, PLLC in Jackson, Mississippi:
If you have been injured in a wreck caused by a drunk driver, it is in your best interest to consult with an experienced car accident lawyer as soon as possible. Our Jackson personal injury attorneys can investigate your accident and obtain evidence to establish fault. We will assess the full extent of your losses and fight for the compensation you deserve.
Mississippi law is tough on DUI. The legal limit for blood alcohol concentration is .08 for non-commercial drivers age 21 or older. For commercial drivers, the legal limit is .04, and for underage drivers, it is .02.
Penalties for first offense DUI may include:
For a second offense within five years, DUI penalties may include:
Minimum penalties may not be reduced or suspended. With each subsequent violation within five years, penalties increase significantly. A third offense within a five-year period is a felony carrying fines of $2,000 to $5,000, one to five years jail time and vehicle impoundment.
Drinking and driving can be deadly. The Mississippi Department of Transportation (MS DOT) states that drunk driving fatalities accounted for 18% of total traffic deaths statewide in a recent year. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) reports that:
If you or your family member has been hurt by a drunk driver, contact The Penton Law Group, PLLC today to schedule a free consultation with an experienced Jackson car accident lawyer. We will discuss your legal options and the damages you may be entitled to claim.